Opinion

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

By Derek Washington

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1822 Stories

By BAR Editorial Board | January 20, 2021

The Senate this week finally started holding hearings for President Joe Biden's various cabinet nominees and others that need confirmation.

By BAR Editorial Board | January 13, 2021

History was made last week when the San Francisco Board of Supervisors selected Shamann Walton, who represents District 10, to be its new president, the first Black man to take the powerful post.


By BAR staff | January 13, 2021

This week's letters to the editor.

By Evan Low | January 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.


By Nick Gorton | January 6, 2021

It is no secret that many hospital emergency departments are struggling.

By BAR Editorial Board | January 6, 2021

On his way out the door, former Attorney General William Barr delivered one last slap to minority groups, potentially including LGBTQs of color.


By BAR Editorial Board | January 6, 2021

We are several weeks into COVID-19 vaccine distribution and the pace is woefully slow in California.

By BAR Editorial Board | December 29, 2020

After a mostly dismal 2020, we are more than ready for the new year.


By John Lisovsky | December 29, 2020

From 2010 to 2020, the world fĂȘted San Francisco. New startups, new graduates, new immigrants — all wanted to share in its glittering promise.

By BAR Editorial Board | December 22, 2020

The San Francisco Board of Supervisors will meet January 8 and, after elected and reelected members are sworn in, will choose a new board president.


By Jim Mitulski | December 22, 2020

This is a good year for Christmas. We need the joy, the light, hope, the gifts, the promise, the peace. All of it.

By BAR Editorial Board | December 16, 2020

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener is absolutely right in calling for an audit of the California Department of Public Health to find out why it is still not collecting sexual orientation and gender identity (SOGI) data for COVID-19.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1822 Stories