Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

By Daralt

As a survivor of the AIDS crisis of the 1980s, I remember how our community was torn apart by the two camps that were formed around the practice of safe sex. Condoms or no condoms?

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 727 Stories

By Ellen R. Shaffer | July 1, 2020

The 1980s were an increasingly awful decade in California.

By Julia Feliz and Z. Zane McNeill | June 24, 2020

A year on from Stonewall's 50th anniversary, we find ourselves in quite an odd time in history.


By Keith Highiet | June 17, 2020

Celebrating Pride this June is anything but what we'd envisioned for 2020.

By Kiki Monifa | June 10, 2020

First of all, I am talking about the peaceful protests. I live in Oakland, California and during 1967's Summer of Love it was our neighboring city of Berkeley that garnered the media attention for demonstrations and protests.


By Imani Rupert-Gordon | May 27, 2020

This year's Anniversary Celebration for the National Center for Lesbian Rights will be nothing like I imagined when I accepted the position as executive director in late 2019.

By Rafael Mandelman | May 20, 2020

Shelter in place, which has been so successful at flattening the curve and saving lives, has been a disaster for street conditions in San Francisco.


By Kaushik Roy | May 13, 2020

Given what has transpired in our nation over the last several years, it is hard to argue with what then-Senator Barack Obama asserted in 2006: that America indeed suffers from an "empathy deficit."

By John-Manuel Andriote | May 6, 2020

On my desk are three mementos of the AIDS pandemic. They remind me of what we lived through in the frightening early years of a plague that seemed hell-bent on killing gay men — and the high price we have paid for our resilience.


By Michael Yamashita | May 1, 2020

Thank you very much, it has been both humbling and encouraging receiving your generous support when so many are also in need of help. So far, we have raised just over $25,000 and are just 15% away from reaching our goal of $30,000.

By Alan Lessik | April 29, 2020

Who could imagine that radical behavioral changes required due to the new coronavirus would make kissing dangerous and caressing forbidden?


By Daniel Redman | April 22, 2020

We, the undersigned, are members or allies of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community in the city of San Francisco.

By Tom Ammiano | April 15, 2020

An exclusive excerpt from Tom Ammiano's memoir, "Kiss My Gay Ass: My trip down the Yellow Brick Road through activism, stand-up, and politics."


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 727 Stories