Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

By Stephanie Battaglino

So there I was. Standing all by myself in the middle of this fairly large and open lobby in a building that had about a thousand people in it — and no one was around.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 766 Stories

By Gustavo Staufert | May 5, 2021

As a proud Guadalajara native, or Tapatío as we refer to ourselves locally, I spend my days waxing poetic about all our beautiful city has to offer visitors.

By Christina Morris | April 23, 2021

On a hilly residential street in Noe Valley, the small house at 651 Duncan Street gives no hint of its outsized role in influencing over 50 years of LGBTQIA+ civil rights.


By M.K. Leach | April 14, 2021

COVID-19 has impacted California in many ways, from causing increased job loss to deaths to forcing the closure of countless businesses to increased substance use within many demographics.

By David Chiu | April 7, 2021

At just past the one-year mark of COVID-19, we have seen the devastating consequences of the pandemic in every aspect of society.


By Thomas E. Horn | March 31, 2021

For 50 years the Bay Area Reporter has chronicled the development of the LGBT movement in San Francisco.

By Sean Cahill | March 24, 2021

Are Black LGBTQ people disproportionately vulnerable to COVID-19? Are they more hesitant about getting vaccinated? What about LGBTQ immigrants, or older LGBTQ people? Unfortunately, we have little public health data with which to answer these questions.


By Alan Lessik | March 17, 2021

In a long year for our community since the beginning of COVID, we have experienced lockdowns, loneliness, fear, and grieving as we mourned our lack of connection and intimacy.

By Reese Aaron Isbell | March 10, 2021

As we recognize the anniversary of the first shutdown, I want to share with you an update on rental housing dynamics during Year I of the COVID-19 pandemic and where we are heading into Year II.


By M.D. Neu | March 3, 2021

Voting is a right and privilege that is a cornerstone of our democracy.

By David Broockman | February 24, 2021

Last month, I asked my representative on the Board of Supervisors, Dean Preston, to make it easier to build new housing in our city.


By Seth Brenzel | February 17, 2021

On February 9, the 25th anniversary of my first date with my husband, the San Francisco Board of Education considered my nomination to join the volunteer Parent Advisory Council.

By Brendalynn R. Goodall | February 10, 2021

When I was a little girl, there was no Black History Month.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 766 Stories