Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

By James Brandon

Pride Month is here! And with it comes a monthlong excursion navigating coast-to-coast parades to celebrate community, self-affirmation, and a true gathering of family with every facet of the LGBTQ2+ prism.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 673 Stories

By Perry N. Halkitis | June 12, 2019

I want to tell you why I wrote "Out in Time: From Stonewall to Queer, How Gay Men Came of Age Across the Generations."

By Jeff Cotter | June 5, 2019

Many people, regardless of their gender identity or sexual orientation, are surprised to hear that Cuba has a vigorous LGBTQ+ movement.


By David Campos | May 29, 2019

In a few days all eyes will be on San Francisco. The California Democratic Party is coming to town.

By Shawn Kumagai | May 29, 2019

I requested at a recent Dublin City Council meeting that the rainbow flag be flown outside City Hall throughout June to honor Pride Month.


By Scott Wiener | May 22, 2019

Last week the chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee decided to unilaterally postpone my housing bill, Senate Bill 50 (the More HOMES Act) without holding a vote.

By Michael Colbruno | May 15, 2019

A spate of recent headlines must make one wonder if the "alphabet soup" movement that has led us to LGBTTIQQ2SA — lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two spirit, and allies — has finally seen its day.


By Brian Rogers | May 8, 2019

Spring is here! Finally our dreary winter will give way to a beautiful display of the natural beauty in Sonoma County. For lifelong LGBT activists like myself, the longer days of spring also mean Pride season is approaching.

By Cole M. Bienek | May 1, 2019

I live in an environment where the expression of my sexuality is against the law. The California Medical Facility in Vacaville is enlightened enough to offer free condoms to inmates, yet the use of them to have sex is specifically prohibited.


By Kevin Dowling | April 24, 2019

I had heard of Pete Buttigieg before he started running for president in February.

By Katrina C. Rose | April 17, 2019

Democratic National Committee Chair Tom Perez said the party chose Milwaukee, Wisconsin for its 2020 convention "because the city embodies who we are as a party."


By Deepa Varma and Tommi Avicolli Mecca | April 17, 2019

As tenant advocates, we fight every day to keep our neighbors and our communities here in the city. Our organizations counsel the vast majority of rent control tenants who seek help in San Francisco.

By Reese Aaron Isbell | April 10, 2019

"Congratulations! Now, we need to talk to you about increasing your rent."


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 673 Stories