Opinion

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

By Jeff Freitas

"My name is Jeff Freitas, I am an American Federation of Teachers vice president, the president of the California Federation of Teachers, and I am a gay teacher."

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1593 Stories

By BAR Editorial Board | August 21, 2019

The recent mass shooting in nearby Gilroy, as well as the other incidents in El Paso, Texas; Dayton, Ohio; and many other cities, prompted us to gauge whether the Castro is prepared with safety plans for a violent emergency.

By Paul Berge | August 21, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.


By BAR staff | August 21, 2019

This week's letters to the editor.

By BAR Editorial Board | August 14, 2019

Now spin classes and luxe fitness centers have joined the list of politically toxic companies.


By Paul Berge | August 14, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By Tom Brougham | August 14, 2019

This month marks the 40th anniversary of the "invention" of domestic partnerships policy. On August 21, 1979, I delivered two letters to my employer, the City of Berkeley.


By BAR staff | August 14, 2019

This week's letters to the editor.

By BAR Editorial Board | August 7, 2019

Gay state Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara has been under fire in recent weeks from consumer groups who say he's too cozy with the industry he's charged with regulating


By Paul Berge | August 7, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By Edafe Okporo | August 7, 2019

What is the cost of inaction to me and the people I love? This is the question I ask myself each time I find myself with a bullhorn and a group of people marching and protesting for change.


By BAR Editorial Board | July 31, 2019

The 2019 number of LGBT homeless people should be a wake-up call to the LGBT community in San Francisco.

By Paul Berge | July 31, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1593 Stories