Issue:  Vol. 48 / No. 7 / 15 February 2018

Out CA Assembly members given leadership posts

CA Assemblyman Todd Gloria

CA Assemblyman Todd Gloria

Three of the California Assembly’s out lawmakers received top leadership posts today, while the fourth, lesbian Assemblywoman Sabrina Cervantes (D-Corona), landed on an important committee during her freshman year.

The group’s other freshman member, gay Assemblyman Todd Gloria (D-San Diego), will be a part of the Assembly Democratic Leadership for the 2017-2018 legislative session. Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount) announced this morning (Tuesday, December 27) that he had named Gloria one of two assistant majority whips.

Gloria had faced token opposition in his race to succeed lesbian lawmaker Toni Atkins, who was termed out of her Assembly seat and elected to the state Senate this year. The former San Diego city councilman represents the 78th Assembly District, comprised of the city of San Diego as well as the cities of Coronado, Del Mar, Imperial Beach, and Solana Beach.

Returning lawmakers lesbian Assemblywoman Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton) and gay Assemblyman Evan Low (D-Campbell) were both given chairmanships of Assembly committees. Eggman will chair the accountability and administrative review committee while Low will chair the elections and redistricting committee.

As for Cervantes, who ousted Assemblyman Eric Linder (R-Corona) from his 60th Assembly District seat centered in northwestern Riverside County, she was given a seat on the rules committee.

Today’s committee assignments mean all but two of the seven members of the California Legislative LGBT Caucus will hold leadership posts during the next legislative session. As noted in a blog post last week, Atkins was snubbed by the state Senate’s leader and was not named a committee chair.

Incumbents lesbian state Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton) and gay state Senator Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens) both received committee chair positions as did freshman gay state Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco).

— Matthew S. Bajko, December 27, 2016 @ 11:40 am PST
Filed under: Uncategorized

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Comments are disabled at this time.

Follow The Bay Area Reporter
Newsletter logo
twitter logo
facebook logo